Buffalo I will root for you but only out of pity.


4th SB loss to Dallas … I feel like if the Bills won that game, a lot of things in my life would be different today, as crazy as that may sound

Quickly reading through the message board at http://www.Bills.com I came across the thread, Most Heart Breaking Bills Loss. In the wake of Buffalo’s heartbreaking loss last night to the Cowboys I was planing on writing a post today about how stupid Buffalo sports fans are and how much they deserved the loss, but honestly after reading up on it I don’t think that that is the case at all. Growing up in Toronto the Bills were the team most often featured on our local American television stations. In fact the Bill’s are a favorite team of many Toronto locals and it’s sort of thought of as a foregone conclusion that the team will move eventually move to Toronto. In spite of all of this I’ve always sort of resented the team, I’m not sure why but it probably (like this year’s Red Sox team) has something to do with the fact I didn’t particularly relate to the team yet they were being pushed down my throat by various media sources. All the way through my youth I took delight in all of the Bills defeats. I loved watching them lose four consecutive Super Bowls and the Music City Miracle made me damn near giddy. Last night however this all changed. I now feel bad for the franchise and I am even considering taking them on as a resident underdog favorite. Why did this happen, you ask? Well there are probably a number of reasons not the least significant of which is the fact that since I’m living 1400 miles from Buffalo I no longer have to hear about the team on local radio and I’m sure this has changed my disposition towards them. The moment that changed my mind for good came just as the Bills lost last night. Of all the people to change my mind about this pathetic franchise it was none other than the mascot that finally made me fell for this team. After Cowboys Kicker Nick Folk hit his career long 53 yard field goal, the mascot who was standing between the uprights simply grabbed his head and feel to the ground. It didn’t look like the mascot was surprised, but rather that he was expecting it and that he couldn’t believe it was happening again. I have never in my life seen a mascot express so much. It changed my whole outlook, I no longer hate the Bills I just sort of pity them. Their fans diserve better than getting kicked in the nuts by a team that always does slightly better than expected just to blow it when the money is on the table.

So from now on I like the Bills and I won’t be happy when they lose and I’ll maybe even root for them in a close game, because for everyone like this:

there are dozens of people like this:

I was young, but the music city miracle probably ruined my youth..

The Broncos loss really didn’t affect me this year, to be honest, until I saw them running on the field to kick the field goal I thought for sure we’d lose it. When I saw them running I just thought to myself “Holy crap.. we could win this.” I just never felt like we could win it..

1 Comment

Filed under Bills, Buffalo, Mascot, New Team I like, NFL, Toronto Bills

One response to “Buffalo I will root for you but only out of pity.

  1. HOME OF THE

    TORONTO BILLS

    10 REASONS WHY CRAZY OMAR THINKS

    THE BUFFALO BILLS

    ARE MOVING TO TORONTO !!!

    GO TORONTO BILLS !!!

    Buffalo News Top Story: Overnight Shooting

    Buffalo News Top Story: Overnight House Fire

    BUFFALO IS THE ARM PIT OF THE NORTHEAST
    NO JOBS (NO CORPORATIONS)
    HIGH CRIME
    BROKE COUNTY (CAN NOT FUND TEAM)
    RUDE FANS
    CROOKED POLITICIANS (Click Here)
    HOPELESS CITY (RED BUDGET)
    NOTABLY BAD WEATHER
    NO NIGHT LIFE (EVEN CLOSED)
    RALPH WILSON STADIUM IS OUT IN NO MAN’S LAND (Click Here)

    I used to be a hard-core Buffalo Bills Fan.

    Coming soon video clips!!!

    *** Statistics – Based on Crazy Omar living in Buffalo 1995-2002

Leave a comment