Tiki Barber: Asshole.

 

It’s a shame, I really liked Tiki Barber as a player, he was one of those guys who seemed to play every down like it might be his last. I remember specifically John Madden talking about how he is the only player in the league who actually smiles after he gets tackled. He was also probably the only Running Back in the league who would get hit, fall down and be back on his feet helping the defensive player up.  I don’t know he just sort of seemed like a class act.

Unfortunately it seems that Tiki now thinks that he is above the game and he is completely willing to throw any of his former teammates, the coaching staff, and the entire Giants franchise under the bus to prove it.  The whole mess started when Tiki called out the leadership of Quarterback Eli Manning.  Saying that when Eli tried to lead the team it was comical.  Yesterday excerpts of Tiki’s new book “Tiki: My life in the game and beyond” stated that there is a chance that he would still be in the league if Tom Coughlin weren’t still coaching the Giants.   Saying:

“[Coughlin] robbed me of what had been one of the most important things I had in my life, which was the joy I felt playing football,” Barber wrote, according to the newspaper. “I had lost that. He had taken it away.”…”It’s a double-edged sword, because as much as Coach Coughlin helped me, I also helped Tom Coughlin,” Barber wrote.

I have no problem that Tiki is going after all of these people the problem is the way that he is doing it.  He shouldn’t be using his new position as a sportscaster to settled old vendettas that he may have against the Giants organization.  It just all seems a little too self-serving for me.  I think that Tiki has really thought of himself as a “free agent” ever since he announced half way through the season that he was done and now he is trying to justify his signing by NBC by giving what he thinks are inside stories.  I also think that it is funny that so far Tiki has only really spoken about the Giants.  When I found out that he was going to get into journalism I was most excited about the way that he would breakdown the other teams in the league, but he seems unwilling to do this.  Personally I wonder whether he would be willing to call out his twin brother Ronde if he had a bad game.There should be a rule that states that you can’t call out your former teammates unless you have been traded (and it creates a rivalry) or unless you have been out of the game for a couple of years.   What Tiki is doing looks Bush league.

3 Comments

Filed under Bitch, Inside information, NFL, Sports, Tiki Barber

3 responses to “Tiki Barber: Asshole.

  1. fruffy

    He’s such an attention whore. I never really liked him as a player but this is making him look like such a tool. There is only so much dirt he can divulge on his former team. He will have to learn to actually lend some insight on current situations or he will not last long in the business.

  2. Frankie

    Steroid addict turned media whore. (Fraud with a microphone & camera)

    No big deal.

    Happens every week.

    ESPN-Disney employs these steroid creatures too.

  3. Sportsattitude

    I totally agree with your post. This guy has thrown away more good vibes than anyone in recent memory. He could have run for Mayor of New York prior to his final season as a Giant. Now, cabbies in the Big Apple try to run him over.

Leave a Reply

